Dr Thomas Mapfumo – 263Chat https://www.263chat.com Zimbabwean media organisation focused on encouraging & participating in progressive national dialogue Thu, 18 Apr 2019 14:26:10 +0000 en-US hourly 1 https://www.263chat.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/02/263-Chat-Website-Logo-01-3-01-100x100.png Dr Thomas Mapfumo – 263Chat https://www.263chat.com 32 32 The Week Mukanya Literally Took Over Zimbabwe https://www.263chat.com/the-week-mukanya-literally-took-over-zimbabwe/ Wed, 02 May 2018 16:36:03 +0000 http://www.263chat.com/?p=30646

After 14 years of exile, the Godfather of Chimurenga music, Thomas Tafirenyika Mapfumo touched down at the Robert Mugabe International Airport on 18¬†April ahead of his first performance on home soil since his unceremonious departure to the United States of America. His home coming could not have been any better as he literally became the […]

The post The Week Mukanya Literally Took Over Zimbabwe appeared first on 263Chat.

]]>
Thomas Mapfumo Home Coming Bira In Pictures https://www.263chat.com/thomas-mapfumo-home-coming-bira-in-pictures/ Sun, 29 Apr 2018 11:08:35 +0000 http://www.263chat.com/?p=30423

The post Thomas Mapfumo Home Coming Bira In Pictures appeared first on 263Chat.

]]>
Know Intellectual Property Rights, Women Urged https://www.263chat.com/know-intellectual-property-rights-women-urged/ Thu, 26 Apr 2018 15:09:59 +0000 http://www.263chat.com/?p=30313

The time has come for the world to acknowledge the achievements of women in the creative sphere and as such this year's celebration are geared toward highlighting the importance of the intellectual property system and how it can support women in their creative endevours...

The post Know Intellectual Property Rights, Women Urged appeared first on 263Chat.

]]>
Stage Set for Sekurutau, Mukanya Collabo https://www.263chat.com/stage-set-for-sekurutau-mukanya-collabo/ Wed, 25 Apr 2018 14:13:38 +0000 http://www.263chat.com/?p=30261

Renowned sculptor and African roots music maestro, Bryn ‘Sekurutau’ Mteki has won a rare opportunity to collaborate with Chimurenga music legend, Dr Thomas ‘Mukanya’ Mapfumo on his new song following their meeting yesterday. Mukanya appears to be the most sought after musician for collaboration as local artists are scrambling to have a dance with him […]

The post Stage Set for Sekurutau, Mukanya Collabo appeared first on 263Chat.

]]>
Mukanya Bemoans ‘Chauya Chauya’ Leak https://www.263chat.com/mukanya-bemoans-chauya-chauya-leak/ Tue, 24 Apr 2018 10:51:51 +0000 http://www.263chat.com/?p=30171

Chimurenga music legend, Thomas Tafirenyika Mapfumo has bemoaned music piracy which saw his yet to be released track, “Chauya Chauya” which is still at mastering stage leaking into the streets and social media where it has gone viral. In a press statement released today, Mukanya as he is affectionately known by his legion of fans […]

The post Mukanya Bemoans ‘Chauya Chauya’ Leak appeared first on 263Chat.

]]>
Sekuru Tau Welcomes Mukanya https://www.263chat.com/sekuru-tau-welcomes-mukanya/ Mon, 23 Apr 2018 13:51:03 +0000 http://www.263chat.com/?p=30142 www.263chat.com

African Roots Music maestro, Bryn Taurai Mteki porpularly known as Sekurutau has reached out to Chimurenga music icon, Dr Thomas Mapfumo saying his home coming was long overdue. Sekurutau took to Facebook to announce his warm regards to the legendary singer Mapfumo also known as Mukanya by his legion of fans while giving a hint […]

The post Sekuru Tau Welcomes Mukanya appeared first on 263Chat.

]]>
Zim Achievers USA a resounding success https://www.263chat.com/zim-achievers-usa-resounding-success/ Tue, 22 Nov 2016 06:39:09 +0000 http://www.263chat.com/?p=13557

The first USA edition of the Zimbabwe Achievers Awards (ZAA) got off to a remarkable start last Saturday, as Zimbabweans living in different parts of the 50 state country turned out in their numbers for the swanky red carpet affair held at the prestigious Westin Stonebriar Hotel and Golf Club in Frisco, Texas. All glammed […]

The post Zim Achievers USA a resounding success appeared first on 263Chat.

]]>