Monday, November 28, 2022
HomeSportsMasakadza, Taylor Ruled Out Of UAE Series

Masakadza, Taylor Ruled Out Of UAE Series


Zimbabwe will be without the injured star duo of Hamilton Masakadza and Brendan Taylor when they face the United Arab Emirates (UAE) in the four-match one-day international (ODI) series that gets underway in Harare on Wednesday.

The two experienced players are conspicuous by their absence from the 16-man squad that will represent Zimbabwe in the first two ODIs.

Makasakadza, the captain, is nursing a left thumb injury which he picked in a domestic match in February, while Taylor is recovering from a right calf muscle tear he sustained in a Pakistan Super League game in Dubai during the same month.

Both of them had been included in the 27-men training squad that has been in camp for the past fortnight, but they have not recovered in time to play a part at least in the first two matches of the series against the UAE.

With Masakadza sidelined, vice-captain Peter Moor will lead the side that will be banking on the in-form Craig Ervine, alongside seasoned campaigners Sikandar Raza, Sean Williams, Tendai Chatara, Kyle Jarvis and Elton Chigumbura.

The uncapped duo of Ainsley Ndlovu and Tony Munyonga are in line to make their international bow after they made the cut, while Timycen Maruma and Regis Chakabva are back in the side following their lengthy absence from ODI cricket.

ALSO ON 263Chat:  Thriller Match As Chevrons Survive Late Scare To Beat Sri Lanka

The players, who did not make it into this squad will have another chance to be picked when the selectors name the side for the last two matches of the series.

The ODIs against the UAE are scheduled for 10, 12, 14 and 16 April, all at Harare Sports Club.

Proceeds from ticket sales for the third match, on Sunday 14 April, will go towards Cyclone Idai disaster relief efforts.

Before the series gets underway, the UAE will first face the Chairman’s XI side in a 50-over warm-up match at Old Hararians Sports Club this Monday.

Brian Chari will captain the Chairman’s XI team, which includes three Under-19 players – Wesley Madhevere, Dion Myers and Luke Oldknow.

Zimbabwe Squad for ODI Series versus UAE:

Peter Moor (captain), Solomon Mire, Brian Chari, Regis Chakabva, Sean Williams, Timycen Maruma, Sikandar Raza, Donald Tiripano, Kyle Jarvis, Tendai Chatara, Chris Mpofu, Craig Ervine, Brandon Mavuta, Ainsley Ndlovu, Tony Munyonga, Elton Chigumbura

Share this article
Written by

263Chat is a Zimbabwean media organisation focused on encouraging & participating in progressive national dialogue

No comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

You cannot copy content of this page