Saturday, December 3, 2022
HomeSportsZimbabwe Name Under-19 Cricket World Cup Squad

Zimbabwe Name Under-19 Cricket World Cup Squad

Zimbabwe’s squad for the ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup 2020 has been named.

Dion Myers will captain the side at the 16-team tournament that will be held in South Africa from 17 January to 9 February 2020. Myers will be deputized by  Wesley Madhevere, who will be making his third appearance at the event, having made his first appearance at the age of 15 at the 2016 edition in Bangladesh.

Zimbabwe’s 15-man squad also includes Milton Shumba who, like Myers, also took part at the 2018 tournament in New Zealand.

Apart from the experienced trio, another familiar face in the squad is Dane Schadendorf, who was among the non-travelling reserves for the last edition of the same tournament.

Coached by former senior national team captain Prosper Utseya, Zimbabwe have also picked left-arm chinaman Tadiwanashe Nyangani from Chipadze High School in Bindura, while former national Under-17 football star Taurayi Tugwete also made the cut.

Brandon James, the son to former Zimbabwe international cricketer Wayne James, is in the side too.

The final squad was selected following a rigorous programme that included trials, several training camps, two tours to South Africa and practice matches against Uganda and local provincial sides.


Zimbabwe will face Bangladesh, Pakistan and Scotland in Group C of the ICC Under-19 Cricket World Cup 2020.

ALSO ON 263Chat:  Cremer, Williams, Masakadza move up Test rankings

Utseya’s charges will open their campaign at the tournament against Bangladesh at the JB Marks Oval in Potchefstroom on 18 January.

They will then take on Pakistan and Scotland on 22 and 25 January respectively at the Witrand Oval, also in Potchefstroom.

The top two teams from each of the four groups will advance to the Super League, while the remaining teams will feature in the Plate championship.


Dion Myers (captain), Wesley Madhevere (vice-captain), Emmanuel Bawa, Privilege Chesa, Gareth Chirawu, Ahomed Rameez Ebrahim, Dylan Grant, Brandon James, Tadiwanashe Marumani, Tadiwanashe Nyangani, Luke Oldknow, Samuel Ruwisi, Dane Schadendorf, Milton Shumba, Taurayi Tugwete


Brighton Chapungu, Nkosilathi Nungu, Rodney Mufudza, Kudakwashe Macheka, Matthew Welch

Share this article
Written by

263Chat is a Zimbabwean media organisation focused on encouraging & participating in progressive national dialogue

No comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

You cannot copy content of this page