Wednesday, April 24, 2024
HomeSportsDurham Return To Zimbabwe For Red-Ball, T20 Action

Durham Return To Zimbabwe For Red-Ball, T20 Action

English county cricket side Durham are back in the country for the third time in four years for a pre-season tour that will see them facing Zimbabwe A in two three-day matches in Harare before taking part in the Domestic T20 Competition.

The first three-dayer is scheduled for 22-24 February at Harare Sports Club, while the second is set for 27-29 February at Takashinga Cricket Club.

Durham will then join the Domestic T20 Competition as the sixth team alongside the provincial sides Eagles, Mega Market Mountaineers, Rhinos, Southern Rocks and Tuskers.

The T20 tournament is pencilled in to start on 3 March.

Last year, Durham visited Zimbabwe together with another English county team, Glamorgan, for a pre-season programme that included matches across all formats against local select sides.

In 2020, they were also in the country alongside Derbyshire, although that tour had to be cut short due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Meanwhile, Zimbabwe Cricket (ZC) has announced the Zimbabwe A squad for the three-day matches against Durham.

The selected players include Johnathan Campbell, Aliakbar Hamid, Tadiwanashe Marumani, Nkosana Mpofu, Matthew Welch, Donald Tiripano and Brian Bennett who were all among the top run-scorers in the just-ended first-class tournament, the Logan Cup. 

Spinners Tapiwa Mufudza and Ainsley Ndlovu have also been rewarded for their impressive performances in the provincial four-day competition.

ALSO ON 263Chat:  Zimbabwe A Go Down To Durham In First Meeting

Takudzwa Chataira, Roy Kaia, Clive Madande, Cuthbert Musoko, Victor Nyauchi and Milton Shumba complete the 15-man squad for the first match.

Mgcini Dube, Tanunurwa Makoni and Michael Chinouya will then join the Zimbabwe A side for the second three-dayer.

The selectors had also picked Brian Chari, who finished as the leading run-scorer in the Logan Cup, but he is unavailable for personal reasons.

Fans will be able to attend and watch all the matches in-person free of charge.

The games will be live-streamed on ZC’s digital platforms, while ball-by-ball coverage will also be available on the Zimbabwe Cricket app, which is free to download across both iOS and Android mobile devices.


Aliakbar Hamid, Brian Bennett, Johnathan Campbell, Takudzwa Chataira, Roy Kaia, Clive Madande, Tadiwanashe Marumani, Nkosana Mpofu, Tapiwa Mufudza, Cuthbert Musoko, Ainsley Ndlovu, Victor Nyauchi, Milton Shumba, Donald Tiripano, Matthew Welch

IN FOR SECOND THREE-DAYER: Mgcini Dube, Tanunurwa Makoni, Michael Chinouya

Share this article
Written by

263Chat is a Zimbabwean media organisation focused on encouraging & participating in progressive national dialogue

No comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

You cannot copy content of this page