ZMC Commissioners Sworn In

President Emmerson Mnangagwa today swore in commissioners of the Zimbabwe Media Commission (ZMC) to be chaired by Proffesor Ruby Magosvongwe.

The commissioners are Prof Ruby Magosvongwe, Dumisani Mashingaidze, Susan Makore, Miriam Tose Majome, Rtd Major E Mbewe, Tanaka Muganyi, Dr Phillip Pasirayi, Jasper Maphosa and Alec Ncube.

the Ministry of Information, Publicity & Broadcasting Services confirmed the development.

The appointments were made in terms of Section 248 (1) of the Constitution of Zimbabwe.

In June, 18 candidates were shortlisted by Parliament of Zimbabwe for the vacancies in the ZMC and interviews were subsequently held on July 3.

Prof Magosvongwe obtained her Doctor of Philosophy Degree from the University of Cape Town. She is also a holder of a Graduate Certificate in Education, BA General and Master of Arts Degrees from the University of Zimbabwe.

Before the appointment, Magosvongwe was the University of Zimbabwe director of information and public relations and has previously served in various boards including the Zimbabwe International Book Fair board, chairs the ZMC.

The commissioners come at a time the country’s media space remains relatively repressive of media practitioners who on many occasions have encountered different forms of harassment from the security arms of the state.


You cannot copy content of this page