Monday, April 22, 2024
HomeNewsNominations For Ignite Youth Awards Open

Nominations For Ignite Youth Awards Open

Disruptive youth organisation, Ignite Youth Organisation has opened nominations for the third edition of its annual awards.

The announcement was made today marking the International Day of Charity which happens every year on 5 September to recognise acts of volunteerism and philanthropy.

The Ignite Youth Awards are meant to honour and celebrate the achievements of socially responsible young people, aged 13 to 35, who have made significant positive contributions to society through a range of activities.

Interested parties can nominate themselves.

Nominations must be received no later than Sunday, October 9, 2022. Experts and mentors will oversee the selection process for the nominations and narrow the field down to a final few young individuals or youth organizations in each category. Winners in each category will be announced at the awards ceremony on Saturday, December 10 at the Celebration Center’s Jubilee Hall.

To nominate an individual visit: www.igniteyouthawards.com/nominate

Deadline for nominations is Sunday 9 October 2022.

Final selection of shortlisted nominees for each category will be made by a pool of judges. The criteria judges will use will be based on the responses provided in the nomination form. Finalists will be notified over email and will be posted on Ignite Youth social media pages. Finalists will be announced on Monday 17 October.

In each category, there will be two winners. One of the winners will be selected by the judges. The second winner will be decided by a People’s Choice Awards Competition, with the winner being the nominee whose post receives the most likes on Ignite Youth Instagram page. Deadline for the People’s Choice Awards is Wednesday 7 December 2022.

The finalists will be contacted through email and invited for an awards ceremony. All nominees will receive certificates.

ALSO ON 263Chat:  Human Rights Project concludes with Harare Gardens Photographic Exhibition

The categories are;

Humanitarian Award: The Humanitarian Award honors young people who have worked hard to make their community a better place.

Tech Innovator Award: The Innovator Award recognizes youth who have demonstrated proficiency in the domains of ICT and have exploited the potential of technology for social impact.

Frontline Hero Award: This honors young people (such as relief workers, nurses, and teachers) who have gone above and beyond “the call of duty” to save and educate lives.

The Education Award: recognizes youth who have helped other children and youth gain access to academic opportunities.


The Creativity Award: honors young people who have successfully turned their creativity into a business and who offer personal expression through visual or performing arts, as well as those who foster other young people’s voices through their abilities, media, and digital art forms.

Role-Model Award: Youth who are great leaders, mentors, peer counselors, or have a positive influence on others.

Climate Activism Award: This award recognizes student accomplishments in environmental advocacy programs and climate change initiatives.

The Phoenix Award: honors youth who, like a phoenix, soar with renewed life and demonstrate great determination and stamina as they overcome enormous life adversities. These can be youth who have succeeded despite disability, recovered from setbacks caused by teen pregnancy, excelled academically despite obstacles, overcome violence, or assisted their families or communities in dealing with difficult circumstances, and who have used their experiences to help others in similar situations.

Entrepreneurship Award: This award recognizes a young person who, despite all odds, is making strides in the entrepreneurship sector and demonstrates exceptional business acumen, skills, and resilience.

ALSO ON 263Chat:  Chamisa’s Agenda 2020 to Tackle Economic Crisis

Girl Empowerment Award: This award recognizes outstanding and innovative contributions made by youth to advance girls’ and women’s empowerment.

Mental Health Award: This award recognizes those who have made significant and innovative contributions to the advancement of mental well-being in society.

Sports Award: This award celebrates kids who are making remarkable accomplishments in the sports business while simultaneously having a positive influence in their communities through sport.

Journalism Award: This award honors young people who have used their reporting skills to tell tales and report on social issues.

The Social Innovation Award: honors young people whose innovations, startups and businesses have had a significant, measurable impact on some of the world’s most critical issues.

Young Influencer: This award is given to a young man or woman who uses their significant social media following and online presence to establish new trends, be creative, and set the pace for innovation.

Teen Changemaker Award: This award recognizes and honours teenagers who are deeply committed to making a positive difference in the world, both now and in the future.

Children’s Rights Award: This award acknowledges youth who have made outstanding efforts to uphold the rights of children as outlined in the United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child.

Fostering Youth Participation Award: This award honors individuals or organizations that enable meaningful youth engagement, participation in policy and governance work, and action for the SDGs.


This year, the awards are much bigger and better. Hip-hop prodigy, Voltz JT is expected to grace the ceremony.

Share this article

No comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

You cannot copy content of this page